S.V.D.P. Heritage

| Services | Location | Good News | Bulletin | What's On | R.C.I.A. | Donations | Home | Parish Groups |
| Parish Center | Schools | Heritage | Local Churches | Sacraments | Guest Book | Weddings | Login |

Copyright © St Brigid's R.C. 2004

The Society of St Vincent De Paul

Blessed Frederic Ozanam
1813 – 1853
Founded the Society in 1833

“The blessing of the Poor is the blessing of God. Let us go to the Poor”

St Brigid’s Conference, Newmains
The Conference received its Letter of Aggregation on the 10th of July 1922.

Spiritual Director: The Rev. Hugh Macdonald
President: John Friar, Morningside Newmains.
Vice President: Patrick Brannigan, Westwood Road, Newmains.
Treasurer: John Kennedy, Station Row, Morningside.
Secretary: Francis O’Rourke, Crindledyke, Newmains.

Although it is now 80 years since its founding in the Parish the above men are still well remembered, along with many others. SVDP archives show that we started with 12 members, and that the average attendance was 10.

Meetings were held every Sunday at 12 o’clock in the Chapel School. The Chapel School served a dual purpose until the new Chapel opened in 1933 and from time to time has still served as the Chapel when alterations or decorations were being carried out and will probably serve as a Chapel again during the extensive landscaping work being undertaken today.

Today there are 5 members including one lady member. The first lady member joined the Conference in 1998.

President/Treasurer: Pat Cahill
Vice President: Pat Douglas
Secretary: Edward Meechan
other Members: Elizabeth Reynolds & Thomas Cullen.

Throughout the years the Society has given to the needy of the parish both in cash and in kind. The General strikes of 1921 and 1926, the Hungry 30’s, the War Years of the 40’s and their aftermath into the 50’s always ensured their charitable works were in great demand and always appreciated.

From the Society’s Statistical Return 1921-1922
The Conference paid out £1-5-0 and its income was £14-2-5d.

Men of the Parish who were members are:

M. Brawley H. Brawley J. Brawley W. Breslin P. Duffy
J.O’Rourke P. Gallacher D. Darroch P. McGuire J. Kennedy
J. Dale Snr J. Dale Jnr P. Dale J. Nevans J. Ryan
P. Clark T. Clark J. Mullen J. Lynch J. Keegan
L. Smith W. Young T. Cullen D. Muir P. Sherry
P. Diamond G. Burns T. Sloan J. Mooney P. Duffy
P. Thomas N. Welsh J. McFeely J. Kelly J. Cullen
J. Reilly J. Sneddon big Jim Ryan wee Jim Ryan R. Young
P. McCairn J. Duffy J. McAllister P. Hannah J. Hainey
T. Geraghty P. Muldoon E. Meechan D. Jackson P. Clifford
J. Brown W. Hose J. Dougan C. Dougan R. Young
N. Welsh        

This list may be incomplete.

Page | I | II | III